Hyndburn Borough Council

Hyndburn Borough Council


Information about Hyndburn Borough Council councillors, including contact details:

Local Councillors

Hyndburn Borough Council is a democratic organisation.

It comprises of 34 elected councillors who are responsible for agreeing policies about provision of services and how the council's money is spent. The council employs officers who are responsible for its day to day management.

Councillors decide which policies the council should pursue, ensure that they are carried out and monitor services provided to ensure that they are delivered in the most efficient and effective way.

The local councillor represents a constituency (known as a Ward) and is there to represent the views and opinions of local people. It is also his or her responsibility to assist those with difficulties which the Council could help solve.

To do this they have regular contact with the general public through either council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and many councillors hold these on a regular basis. You can find out how to contact your councillor by visiting their individual pages.

Your councillor will discuss any concerns or problems relating to council services and listen to your views on issues that you feel are important.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances - these are reviewed each year by an Independent Remuneration Panel.

Political Leaders

Labour Party

Miles Parkinson
Miles Parkinson - Leader of the Council

Ward: Altham

Party: Labour

Paul Cox - Deputy Leader of the Council

Ward: Milnshaw

Party: Labour

Conservative Party

Councillor Tony Dobson
Tony Dobson - Leader of the Main Opposition Party

Ward: Barnfield

Party: Conservative

Brian Roberts - Deputy Leader of the Main Opposition Party

Ward: St Oswalds

Party: Conservative

Terry Hurn - Deputy Leader of the Main Opposition Party

Ward: Baxenden

Party: Conservative

Leaders of the Minority Opposition

Paul Thompson

Ward: St Oswalds

Party: UK Independence

Nick Collingridge

Ward: Clayton-Le-Moors

Group: Independents in Hyndburn

Contact the Council

Telephone: +44 (0) 1254 388 111

Send your feedback or find key contact details.