Borough Council Elections 2020

Hyndburn Borough Council is split into 16 wards. Elections will be held on the 7 May 2020 in 12 of those wards.  The hours of the Poll will be 7am to 10pm.

Elections will be held in:

  • Altham
  • Barnfield
  • Baxenden
  • Central
  • Church
  • Netherton
  • Overton
  • Peel
  • Rishton
  • Springhill
  • St Andrews
  • St Oswalds

Police and Crime Commissioner Elections will be held in all of Hyndburn.  Details can be found here.

2019 Results Borough

2019 Notice of Election Borough

2019 Statement of Persons Nominated

2019 Notice of Election Agents

2019 Notice of Election Parish

2019 Statement of Persons Nominated Parish

2019 Notice of Return of Result of Uncontested Parish

2018 Notice of Poll

2018 Notice of Election

2018 Statement of Persons Nominated

2018 Results

Mayoral Petition Notice

Under the Local Government Act 2000, you can petition the council to hold a referendum on whether local people should elect a Mayor to lead the council instead.

A directly-elected mayor is elected by all the voters in the council’s area to be the head of the council’s decision making body. Having a directly elected mayor is a constitutional change and a referendum is held to give all voters in Hyndburn a chance to choose if they would want this arrangement.

In order to call a referendum for a directly elected mayor, a petition must be raised which is signed by 5% of local government electors that are included in the current Register of Electors. The verification figure is published annually in a formal notice:

Mayoral Petition Notice (pdf)