Hyndburn Sports Awards 2019 Winners

Over 250 people packed out Accrington Town Hall for Friday night’s Hyndburn Sports Awards, where guests were treated to a fantastic evening of dinner, awards, and some inspirational speeches from guests Craig Heap and Stacey Copeland. There was even a surprise appearance from Accrington Legend Dr Ron Hill MBE, who turned up to show his support for local grass roots sports.

Ciaran Wells, Chair of the Board of Hyndburn Leisure, who organise the awards said,

“The awards were fantastic right from arrival. The transformation of the Town Hall in recent years really is something to be seen and the building is the perfect setting for these awards. It was great to see such a wide range of nominees and winners across the categories, all of whom should be proud of their achievements. The speakers were also really inspirational, and they both received standing ovations from the audience. The event could not go ahead without the kind donations of local businesses who sponsored. I hope they enjoyed the night as much as I did.”

Cllr Munsif Dad, Cabinet Member for Leisure at Hyndburn Council, said;

“The awards celebrated and showcased the sporting & physical activity achievements of Hyndburn’s athletes, coaches, volunteers, teams and clubs and it was marvelous to see the amazing work that they do in the community to get people involved in sport and exercise. Congratulations to all the winners and everyone involved in putting on such a fabulous evening.”


The Winners of the awards will go on to represent Hyndburn at the Lancashire Awards later this year.

Changing Lifestyle Award Sponsored by Technogym

Winner – Barbara Peters

Runners Up – Claire Rothwell, George Foot


Coach of the Year sponsored by Master Ground Services

Winner – Elle Kayley

Runners Up – Adam Lee, Sophie Molloy


Community Club of The Year sponsored by Forbes Solicitors

Winner – Accrington Wildcats RLFC

Runners Up – Oswaldtwistle Juniors FC, Hyndburn Athletics Club


Community Project of the Year sponsored by Studio

Winner – Ossy Joggers

Runners Up – Wheel’s For All, Parkinson’s Exercise Project


Inspire Award (Donated by Anne Ellwood) Sponsored by Accrington and District Golf Club

Winner – Lynne Coogan

Runners Up – Edie Birtwistle, Jason’s Wheels


Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by Ron Hill and Hilly Clothing

Winner – Chic Kelly

Runners Up – John Brindle, Stephen Johnson


Primary School of The Year sponsored by Accrington Stanley Community Trust

Winner – Baxenden St John’s Primary School

Runners Up – St Mary’s RC Primary School, Benjamin Hargreaves Primary School


Secondary School of The Year Sponsored by Accrington and Rossendale College

Winner – Accrington Academy


Service to Under-represented groups sponsored by Bevlan Office Interiors

Winner – Jason’s Wheels

Runners Up – Wheel’s For All, Refugee Family Exercise Project


Volunteer of the Year sponsored by Cardboard Box Company

Winner – Gareth Cross

Runners Up – Chris Dickinson, Jean Wood and Ruby Taylor


Young Achiever of the Year sponsored by Beever and Struthers

Winner – Ethan Naisbitt

Runners Up – Keely Battrick, Charlie Chadwick