Leader appointed for Hyndburn Council

Published by: , on:

[Cllr Marlene Haworth, Leader of Hyndburn Council, outside Accrington Market Hall, 2022]


On Thursday 18 May at Hyndburn Borough Council’s AGM (Annual General Meeting) Councillor Marlene Haworth was appointed as the new Leader of the Council. Following this confirmation, cabinet roles and portfolio information will be announced in the coming days.

Councillor Marlene Haworth, Leader of Hyndburn Council, said:

“After already serving as Deputy Leader for the previous 12 months I am in the ideal position to immediately get to work, keeping Hyndburn on track for a fantastic year. I am honoured to be Leader of the Council and I look forward to working with our portfolio holders and fellow councillors to improve wellbeing and outcomes for everyone living in our community.”

Cllr Marlene Haworth has served as a Hyndburn Councillor for over 17 years in total and is currently elected to represent St Oswalds ward in Oswaldtwistle. Cllr Haworth has also been honoured with the roles of Mayor, Mayoress and Deputy Mayor over the years.

Cllr Haworth continued:

“Hyndburn has recently seen an unprecedented amount of funding awarded to us, which is set to transform the borough and kick-start our economy. I will be working to ensure the success of these projects and work closely with all organisations and stakeholders involved to make our community proud.“

There have been no coalitions formed between the parties, and as a result of the AGM the Council will be run through a conservative led ‘minority control’ administration.

The political balance of Hyndburn Borough Council is:

Conservative: 16 Councillors

Labour: 16 Councillors

Green Party: 2 Councillors

Independent: 1 Councillor