Parliamentary Elections

UK Parliamentary Elections - 2017

The UK public elects 650 Members of Parliament (MPs) to represent their interests and concerns in the House of Commons. MPs consider and propose new laws, and can scrutinise government policies by asking ministers questions about current issues either in the Commons Chamber or in Committees.

MP’s are currently elected every 5 years, however the serving Prime Minister can ask for Parliament to be dissolved at any time.

The next Parliamentary Election will take place on 8 June 2017.

You can find out the name of your MP and how to contact him or her using the Government online Constituency locator.