Councillors, democracy and elections

Published by: , on:

Welcome to Council, Democracy and Elections

Elections are held to elect the people who represent you on Hyndburn Borough Council, Lancashire County Council, the European Parliament, and at a national level, the House of Commons.

You are allowed to vote if your name is on the Register of Electors and you are –

  • 18 or over
  • a British, Commonwealth, Irish, or other EU citizen
  • an overseas elector (Parliamentary/European Elections only)
  • a member of HM Forces or their spouses
  • a Crown Servant employed outside the UK
  • a European citizen (European/Local Elections only)

Hyndburn Borough Council has 35 councillors representing the 16 wards in the borough.  Each councillor is elected for a four-year term and stands for election on a rota basis.

Local elections are held in three out of every four years and the next local elections are in 2016.

A by-election or casual vacancy can occur due to resignation or death of a councillor.

Election Details